North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
NAHL Store

St. Louis Bandits granted inactive status for 2012-13

May 14, 2012

The North American Hockey League (NAHL) has announced that the St. Louis Bandits have been granted inactive status and will not compete in the NAHL for the upcoming 2012-13 season.

The Bandits membership came into the NAHL back during the 2003-04 season as the Texarkana Bandits in Arkansas.  Following three years in Texarkana, the Bandits moved to Chesterfield, Missouri (suburb of St. Louis), where they flourished.

During their first year in St. Louis (2006-07), the Bandits won their first Robertson Cup National Championship.  They followed with two more consecutive cups in 2008 and 2009, making them only the fourth team in NAHL history to win three or more Robertson Cup National Championships.  In their six years in St. Louis, the Bandits have also won their division five times.

In their six years in St. Louis, the Bandits program as placed over 60 players in NCAA schools.  Famous alumni of the Bandits organization include: Erik Condra (Ottawa Senators), Pat Maroon (Anaheim Ducks) and Matt Taormina (New Jersey Devils).  Former Bandits head coach Jon Cooper was named the American Hockey League (AHL) coach of the year this past season.

All tendered and veteran players of the Bandits are now considered free agents.

Bauer Vaughn Custom Sports HockeyTV USA Hockey
Apex Learning Next College Student Athlete Krampade Northern Vermont University
Air Force Special Warfare Warroad Warroad Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car Wynne
HockeyTech NSC Super Rink Minneapolis Northwest InStat Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings