North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play

13 NAHL alumni named to Mike Richter Award watch list

January 17, 2023

The Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) has announced a “Watch List” of 41 goalies who will compete for the Mike Richter Award, given annually to the top goalie in men’s NCAA Division I hockey since 2014.

Of the 41 goalies nominated, 13 are alumni that previously played in the NAHL before moving onto play in NCAA Division I hockey.

A committee of voters — made up of a cross section of coaches, administrators, scouts and media — will pare the Watch List down to approximately 15 names within the next three weeks and then ultimately choose the winner, who will be announced on Friday, April 7 during the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla.

Two former NAHL alumni, Collor Hellebuyck (2014) and Jack LaFontaine (2021) are past recipients of the award and who are both currently playing professional hockey.

Past Richter Award Recipients: 2014 - Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell; 2015 - Zane McIntyre, North Dakota; 2016 - Thatcher Demko, Boston College; 2017 - Tanner Jaillet, Denver; 2018 - Cale Morris, Notre Dame; 2019 - Cayden Primeau, Northeastern; 2020 - Jeremy Swayman, Maine; 2021 - Jack LaFontaine, Minnesota; 2022 – Devon Levi, Northeastern

NAHL Alumni on 2022-23 Richter Award “Watch List”

Zachary Borgiel, Merrimack (Brookings Blizzard, 2017-18)

Jaxon Castor, St. Cloud State (Shreveport Mudbugs, 2017-18)

Jakub Dobeš, Ohio State (Topeka Pilots, 2019-20)

Mitchell Gibson, Harvard (Lone Star Brahmas, 2017-18)

Gustavs Davis Grigals, UMass-Lowell (Shreveport Mudbugs, 2017-18)

Beni Halasz, Northern Michigan (New Mexico Ice Wolves, 2020-22)

Jacob Kucharski, Nebraska-Omaha (Austin Bruins, 2016-17)

Ludvig Persson, Miami (Lone Star Brahmas, 2019-20)

Arseni Sergeyev, Connecticut (Shreveport Mudbugs, 2020-21)

Ian Shane, Cornell (Bismarck Bobcats, 2020-21)

Mattias Sholl, Bemidji State (Fairbanks Ice Dogs, 2018-20)

Christian Stoever, Bowling Green (New Jersey, 2020-21/WBS Knights, 2017-18)

Chad Veltri, Niagara (Corpus Christi IceRays, 2017-18)

Bauer HockeyTV True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
Apex Learning Next College Student Athlete Bethel University Krampade
Warroad ICE Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Hockey Ref Shop Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car Wynne
HockeyTech NSC Super Rink Minneapolis Northwest InStat Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings Drop the Puck