North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
NAHL Store

Wings, Mudbugs battle for Robertson Cup on Tuesday

June 22, 2021

One game remains in the 2020-21 North American Hockey League season, and it is the biggest of them all… the 2021 Robertson Cup National Championship Game.

Face-off is scheduled for 7pm on Tuesday, June 22nd at Fogerty Arena in Blaine, MN. The match-up will be a battle against the Central Division Champion Aberdeen Wings against the South Division Champion Shreveport Mudbugs.

Both teams swept their respective Semi-Final series with wins on Friday and Saturday. The Wings defeated the Minnesota Magicians by scores of 5-1 and 2-1, while the Mudbugs defeated the Maine Nordiques by scores of 4-1 and 5-1.

It is familiar territory for both teams and is a match-up of the last two Cup Champions, with the Wings capturing it in 2019, and the Mudbugs winning the Cup in 2018.

Just 17 teams have won the Robertson Cup since it was first awarded in 1976 and 2021 will be the 45th time the league has awarded it to its National Champion.

TICKETS: Tickets for the 2021 NAHL Robertson Cup National Championship Game are sold at the Fogerty Arena Box Office beginning at 6:00pm.

For more information on the event, please visit

The game will be broadcasted live and in HD on HockeyTV

2021 NAHL Robertson Cup Schedule (all times central)

Friday, June 18, Game 1: Aberdeen 5 vs. MN Magicians 1 | Shreveport 4 vs. Maine 1

Saturday, June 19, Game 2: Aberdeen 2 vs. MN Magicians 1 | Shreveport 5 vs. Maine 1

Tuesday, June 22: Robertson Cup National Championship Game, 7:00pm

Overtime Note: During the Robertson Cup Championship, if the score is tied after three periods of play the following shall take place: Teams shall return to their dressing room and the ice shall be resurfaced. A fifteen-minute intermission shall take place. A twenty-minute, sudden death, overtime period shall be played with 5 skaters a side. The game shall terminate upon a goal being scored and the Club scoring declared the winner. If no goal is scored, the same procedure as above shall be repeated until a winner has been determined.

The Robertson Cup is awarded to the national playoff champion of the NAHL. The oldest junior hockey trophy in the United States, the Robertson Cup is named in honor of Chuck Robertson, a pioneer of junior hockey in the NAHL and youth hockey in the state of Michigan. Robertson was the owner of the Paddock Pools Saints when they won a record seven straight championships from 1976-83.

Previous Robertson Cup Champions

2019    Aberdeen Wings

2018    Shreveport Mudbugs

2017    Lone Star Brahmas

2016    Fairbanks Ice Dogs

2015    Minnesota Wilderness

2014    Fairbanks Ice Dogs

2013    Amarillo Bulls

2012    Texas Tornado

2011    Fairbanks Ice Dogs

2010    Bismarck Bobcats

2009    St. Louis Bandits

2008    St. Louis Bandits

2007    St. Louis Bandits

2006    Texas Tornado

2005    Texas Tornado

2004    Texas Tornado

2003    Pittsburgh Forge

2002    Compuware Ambassadors

2001    Texas Tornado

2000    Danville Wings

1999    Compuware Ambassadors

1998    Compuware Ambassadors

1997    Springfield Jr. Blues

1996    Springfield Jr. Blues

1995    Compuware Ambassadors

1994    Compuware Ambassadors

1993    Kalamazoo Jr. K Wings

1992    Compuware Ambassadors

1991    Kalamazoo Jr. K Wings

1990    Compuware Ambassadors

1989    Compuware Ambassadors

1988    Compuware Ambassadors

1987    Compuware Ambassadors

1986    Compuware Ambassadors

1985    St. Clair Falcons

1984    St. Clair Falcons

1983    Paddock Pools

1982    Paddock Pools

1981    Paddock Pools

1980    Paddock Pools

1979    Paddock Pools

1978    Paddock Pools

1977    Paddock Pools

1976    Little Caesars

Bauer HockeyTV True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
Apex Learning Next College Student Athlete Bethel University Krampade
Air Force Special Warfare Warroad ICE Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Hockey Ref Shop Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car Wynne
HockeyTech NSC Super Rink Minneapolis Northwest InStat Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings Drop the Puck