North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
NAHL Store

Six NAHL alumni named Semi-Finalists for Mike Richter Award

March 14, 2019
Let’s Play Hockey announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2019 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. 
The list of 10 goalies includes six who previously played in the North American Hockey League (NAHL).
The five finalists for the sixth annual award will be announced on Thursday, March 28, with the winner presented on Friday, April 12 at the 2019 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Buffalo, N.Y. 
Candidates who are NAHL alumni (Alphabetical)
Jake Kielly, Clarkson (Austin Bruins, 2014-15)
Stefanos Lekkas, Vermont (Springfield Jr. Blues, 2013-14)
Dryden McKay, Minnesota State (Corpus Christi IceRays/Springfield Jr. Blues, 2014-16)
Tommy Nappier, Ohio State (Springfield Jr. Blues, 2015-16)
Hunter Shepard, Minnesota-Duluth (Bismarck Bobcats, 2014-16)
Andrew Shortridge, Quinnipiac (Aberdeen Wings, 2014-15)
The semifinalists combine for a 1.96 goals-against average, a .929 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.34.
Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The semifinalists, finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.
Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
-    Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-    Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-    Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-    Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
-    Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community
Past winners: 2018 Cale Morris (Notre Dame), 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)
NOTES: All 10 semifinalists are Americans • The 10 semifinalists represent eight different U.S. states – Minnesota, Colorado  and Illinois lead with two, followed by Alaska, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri and New Jersey with one each • Conference breakdown – Hockey East 3, Big Ten 2, ECAC 2, NCHC 1, WCHA 1, Independent 1 • The semifinalists include one senior, six juniors, two sophomores and one freshman.
Bauer HockeyTV True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
Apex Learning Next College Student Athlete Bethel University Krampade
Air Force Special Warfare Warroad ICE Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Hockey Ref Shop Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car Wynne
HockeyTech NSC Super Rink Minneapolis Northwest InStat Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings Drop the Puck