North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
NAHL Store

Seven alums named to U.S. Men's National Team

April 13, 2011

Seven former North American Hockey League (NAHL) players were among the first 16 chosen by USA Hockey to compete for the 2011 U.S. Men's National Team at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Men's Championship, which will take place from April 29-May 15 in Kosice and Bratislava, Slovakia.

Among those selected was former Texas Tornado goaltender Al Montoya, who recently finished his season with the NHL's New York Islanders, and former St. Louis Sting forward Yan Stastny, who recently completed his season with CSKA Moscow of the Kontinental Hockey League.

The five other players competed in the NAHL as members of the USA Hockey National Team Development Program: forwards Mike Brown (Toronto Maple Leafs) and Jack Skille (Florida Panthers) and defensemen Mike Komisarek (Toronto), Kevin Shattenkirk (St. Louis Blues) and Mark Stuart (Atlanta Thrashers).

In addition, former Texas Tornado forward Stephane De Costa, who made his NHL debut with the Ottawa Senators earlier the month, was named to France's National Team.

Bauer HockeyTV True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
Apex Learning Next College Student Athlete Bethel University Krampade
Air Force Special Warfare Warroad ICE Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Hockey Ref Shop Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car Wynne
HockeyTech NSC Super Rink Minneapolis Northwest InStat Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings Drop the Puck