North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
NAHL Store

NAHL alumni nominated for Hobey Baker Award

January 16, 2018
The nominees for the 2018 Hobey Baker Memorial Award have been announced. The award recognizes the top NCAA men's ice hockey player in the nation. Nominations were given by sports information directors from Division I schools.
Of the 74 players nominated, 11 are alumni that previously played in the NAHL before moving onto play in NCAA Division I hockey.
The annual fan ballot contribution to help determine the winner of the 2018 Hobey Baker Award is also now available online.
Fans can cast their vote by going to Follow the prompts to make your selection from the group of 74 players representing 46 NCAA Division I schools.
NAHL Alumni on the Hobey Baker list
Michael Bitzer, G, Bemidji State (Alexandria Blizzard)
Daniel Brickley, D, Minnesota State-Mankato (Topeka RoadRunners)
Brady Ferguson, F, Robert Morris (Amarillo Bulls)
Mitch Fossier, F, Maine (Janesville Jets)
Brennan Kapcheck, D, American International (Aston Rebels)
Jake Kielly, G, Clarkson (Austin Bruins)
Stefanos Lekkas, G, Vermont (Springfield Jr. Blues)
Mitch Maloney, F, Ferris State (Port Huron Fighting Falcons)
Robbie Payne, F, Northern Michigan (Kalamazoo Jr. K-Wings)
Alex Rauter, F, Cornell (Wenatchee Wild)
Matthew Weis, F, Ohio State (Corpus Christi IceRays)
This first phase of fan balloting will run now through March 4, 2018. Phase two of fan balloting will begin on March 14 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists and will close March 25.
The fans’ vote accounts for a full one percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient.
Award criteria include candidates exhibiting the exceptional character traits of the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker. A legendary American hero, Baker was a World War I fighter pilot and was known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day, excelling at hockey and football at Princeton.
Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game.
Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.
Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2018 include:
• Top Ten list of candidates: March 14
• Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists: March 29
• Hobey Baker Award announcement: April 6
The 2018 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 6, 2018, during the NCAA Frozen Four championship in St. Paul, Minn. The award ceremony will be held at the Roy Wilkens Auditorium in the St. Paul RiverCentre and will be broadcast nationally on the NHL Network.
Bauer Vaughn Custom Sports HockeyTV
Fanisko Super Chexx USA Hockey Apex Learning Krampade
Beauty Status Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear A and R Sports
Official Game Puck Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Sixt Rent A Car
HockeyTech Schwan Super Rink Minneapolis Northwest Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine USA Junior Hockey Magazine Rubber Hockey Magazine