North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
NAHL Store

Graduate named Hobey Hat Trick finalist

April 2, 2010

University of Wisconsin (WCHA) senior forward Blake Geoffrion, who played in the North American Hockey League (NAHL) from 2004-06 as a member of the U.S. National Team Development program, has been named one of the three Hobey Hat Trick finalists for the 2010 Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

Geoffrion, a tri-captain, is one of college hockey’s most complete players. He is the Badgers’ top faceoff man (58.3 percent), the team’s top penalty-killing forward, UW’s leader and the nation's second-leading goal scorer (27), as well as the nation's top power-play goal scorer (14).

The Brentwood, Tenn., native has been at his best when it matters the most this season. In six postseason games, Geoffrion has six goals and 11 points. He also has two game-winning goals, two power-play goals and a first goal. Geoffrion leads the Badgers with 30 shots and is 60.7 percent on faceoffs (105-68) through the WCHA and NCAA tournaments. He was named the NCAA West Regional Most Outstanding Player and a member of the WCHA Final Five All-Tournament Team.

Geoffrion is the lone Hobey Hat Trick finalist still competing as he looks to lead the Badgers to their seventh NCAA title.

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award was first awarded in 1981 to recognize college hockey’s premier player. Ten players are selected each year as finalists for the award, which is then cut to the “Hobey Hat Trick,” of three finalists.

The three finalists were selected from the initial list of Top 10 candidates by the 24-member Selection Committee and an additional round of online fan balloting to determine this year’s Hobey Baker winner. Criteria for the award include strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner will be named Friday, April 9 live on ESPNU during the NCAA Frozen Four at 6 p.m. CT.

Bauer Vaughn Custom Sports HockeyTV USA Hockey
Apex Learning Next College Student Athlete Krampade Northern Vermont University
Air Force Special Warfare Super Chexx Warroad Warroad Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car Wynne
HockeyTech NSC Super Rink Minneapolis Northwest InStat Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings