North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
NAHL Store

Bandits three-peat with OT victory

May 3, 2009

Robert J. Meyer/

The St. Louis Bandits captured their third straight Robertson Cup Championship with a 3-2 overtime victory over the Wenatchee Wild in the title game at the North Iowa Ice Arena in Mason City, Iowa, on Sunday.

Clinton Bourbonais, who was named to the Robertson Cup All-Tournament Team, connected for the Cup-winner in the extra session, and Grant Gorczyca scored the other two Bandits goals.  Between the pipes, goaltender Keith Kinkaid, who was named the tournament’s MVP and to the All-Tournament Team, turned aside 29 shots.

Also named to the All-Tournament Team were Wenatchee forwards Michael Voran and DJ Vandercook and St. Louis defensemen Shawn Jameson and Dan Weiss.

The Robertson Cup is awarded to the playoff champion of the NAHL, USA Hockey’s Tier II Junior A national champion.

The oldest junior hockey trophy in the United States, the Robertson Cup is named in honor of Chuck Robertson, a pioneer of junior hockey in the NAHL and youth hockey in the state of Michigan. Chuck Robertson was the owner of the Paddock Pools Saints when they won a record seven straight NAHL championships from 1976-83.

For more information on the Robertson Cup Championship Tournament, visit Robertson

Bauer Vaughn Custom Sports HockeyTV
Fanisko Super Chexx USA Hockey Apex Learning Krampade
Beauty Status Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear A and R Sports
Official Game Puck Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Sixt Rent A Car
HockeyTech Schwan Super Rink Jason Livery Custom Painted Goalie Masks Minneapolis Northwest Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine USA Junior Hockey Magazine Rubber Hockey Magazine