NAHL Alumni Update: NCAA Tournament Edition | North American Hockey League | NAHL
North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NA3HL USA Hockey T1ER NAPHL
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play

NAHL Alumni Update: NCAA Tournament Edition

March 28, 2024

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2024 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, which begins on Thursday, March 28th. 

In total, 86 NAHL alumni are on the 16 rosters of teams taking part in the event, and all 16 teams have at least one NAHL alumni. In case you have a rooting interest of teams with NAHL alumni, here is a breakdown:

Boston College: Will Traeger, Minnesota Wilderness (2019-21)

Michigan Tech: Micheal Morelli, Maryland Black Bears (2020-22), Oliver Bezick, Amarillo Wranglers (2018-22), Evan Orr, Northeast Generals/Odessa Jackalopes (2018-22), Jed Pietila, Austin Bruins/Minot Minotauros (2017-20), Trevor Russell, Aberdeen Wings (2019-21), Tyrone Bronte, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Knights (2017-20), Kyle Kukkonen, Minot Minotauros (2020-21), Blais Richartz, Minnesota Magicians (2016-17), Levi Stauber, Danbury Jr. Hat Tricks/Minnesota Wilderness (2017-21)

University of Wisconsin: William Gramme, Lone Star Brahmas (2022-23), Kyle McClellan, Austin Bruins (2018-19), Ben Dexheimer, Austin Bruins (2020-21), Luke LaMaster, Janesville Jets (2017-18), Joe Palodichuk, Bismarck Bobcats (2020-21), Sawyer Scholl, Minnesota Wilderness (2022-23)

Quinnipiac University: Noah Altman, Bismarck Bobcats (2020-21), C.J. McGee, Shreveport Mudbugs (2018-19), Davis Pennington, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Knights (2018-19), Christophe Fillion, Janesville Jets (2017-18)

Michigan State University: Luca Di Pasquo, Maryland Black Bears/Shreveport Mudbugs (2020-22), Jon Mor, Minnesota Wilderness (2019-20), James Crossman, Jamestown Rebels/Odessa Jackalopes (2015-19), Patrick Geary, Northeast Generals (2020-21), Gavin Best, Minnesota Magicians (2020-22), Joey Larson, New Mexico Ice Wolves (2020-21), Daniel Russell, Minot Minotauros (2019-20), Tiernan Shoudy, Austin Bruins (2019-20)

Western Michigan University: Cole Crusberg-Roseen, Minnesota Wilderness (2021-22), Zak Galambos, Johnstown Tomahawks/Janesville Jets (2014-17), Jacob Napier, Aberdeen Wings (2020-21), Trevor Bishop, Janesville Jets (2019-20), Chad Hillebrand, Topeka RoadRunners (2017-18), Hugh Larkin, Austin Bruins (2018-20), Owen Michaels, Bismarck Bobcats (2020-22), Kirk Laursen, New Mexico Ice Wolves (2019-21)

University of North Dakota: Ludvig Persson, Lone Star Brahmas (2019-20), Logan Britt, Aberdeen Wings (2016-18), Keaton Pehrson, Austin Bruins (2016-17), Hunter Johannes, Jamestown Rebels/Bismarck Bobcats (2018-19), Griffin Ness, Minnesota Magicians (2016-17), Ben Strinden, Minot Minotauros (2019-20)

University of Michigan: Jacob Barczewski, Janesville Jets (2016-17), Noah West, Jamestown Rebels (2018-20), Steve Holtz, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Knights (2016-17), Brendan Miles, Fairbanks Ice Dogs (2020-22), Joshua Orrico, Janesville Jets (2022-23), Joshua Eernisse, Austin Bruins (2019-20), Chase Pletzke, Lone Star Brahmas (2017-18), Tanner Rowe, Maryland Black Bears (2020-21)

University of Denver: Paxton Geisel, St. Cloud Norsemen (2020-21), Jared Wright, Minot Minotauros (2020-21)

University of Massachusetts-Amherst: Cole Brady, Janesville Jets (2018-19), Aaron Bohlinger, Philadelphia Rebels (2017-18), Bo Cosman, Minnesota Wilderness/Anchorage Wolverines (2021-23), Ryan Lautenbach, Amarillo Bulls (2018-19), Jack Musa, Odessa Jackalopes (2020-21), Christian Sanda, Fairbanks Ice Dogs/Topeka RoadRunners (2016-17)

University of Maine: Luke Antonacci, Maine Nordiques (2019-21), David Breazeale, Shreveport Mudbugs (2018-21), Jack Dalton, New Mexico Ice Wolves (2021-24), Brandon Holt, New Mexico Ice Wolves (2019-22), Anthony Calafiore, New Jersey Titans (2020-23), Cole Hanson, New Mexico Ice Wolves/Minot Minotauros (2019-21), Parker Lindauer, Janesville Jets (2018-20), Nicholas Niemo, Lone Star Brahmas (2020-22), Sully Scholle, New Mexico Ice Wolves (2021-23), Harrison Scott, Amarillo Bulls/Austin Bruins (2018-21)

Cornell University: Ryan McInchak, New Jersey Titans (2019-20), Ian Shane, Bismarck Bobcats (2020-21), Nick Desantis, New Jersey Titans (2019-20), Sullivan Mack, Kenai River Brown Bears (2019-20), Gabriel Seger, Amarillo Bulls (2018-19)

Boston University: Henry Graham, Springfield Jr. Blues (2018-20), Max Lacroix, Colorado Grit (2023-24), Thomas Jarman, Maryland Black Bears (2018-21)

Rochester Institute of Technology: Gustav Blom, New Mexico Ice Wolves (2021-22), Xavier Lapointe, Janesville Jets (2019-21), Kevin Scott, Maryland Black Bears (2019-22), Christian Catalano, Maryland Black Bears (2022-23)

University of Minnesota: Axel Begley, Wisconsin Windigo (2021-23), Carl Fish, Bismarck Bobcats (2018-20), Max Rud, St. Cloud Blizzard (2019-20)

University of Nebraska-Omaha: Seth Eisele, Lone Star Brahmas (2018-19), Jimmy Glynn, Jamestown Rebels/Philadelphia Rebels (2017-19), Nolan Sullivan, Aberdeen Wings (2016-17)

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four semifinals, April 11th and the National Championship on April 13th. Both the semifinal round and National Championship will be played at the home of the Minnesota Wild, the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, MN. The entire championship uses a single-elimination format. Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of the six conferences. The remainder of the field is selected at large.

The only other junior league in North America with more alumni playing in the NCAA Division I Championship Tournament than the NAHL is the USHL. In addition, 38% of freshmen playing NCAA Division I hockey are alumni of the NAHL.


Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings