NAHL alumni prominent on NHL Opening Night rosters | North American Hockey League | NAHL
North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NA3HL USA Hockey T1ER NAPHL
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
Take Your Next Shift as a NAHL Official

NAHL alumni prominent on NHL Opening Night rosters

October 11, 2023

Former NAHL MVP Pat Maroon begins a new era with the Minnesota Wild in the NHL this season.

The NAHL is pleased to announce that a total of 36 NAHL alumni are listed on 2023-24 opening night rosters of NHL clubs.

The list also includes former NAHL Coach of the Year Jon Cooper, who enters his 10th  full season as the head coach of the Tampa Bay Lightning. Cooper began his NAHL coaching career with the Texarkana Bandits in the 2003-04 season.  He coached in the NAHL a total of five seasons.  In 2004-05 and again in 2007-08, he was honored as the NAHL Coach of the Year.

Former NAHL coach David Quinn begins his fifth season as a head coach in the NHL as he leads the San Jose Sharks. Former NAHL coach Greg Cronin begins his first NHL head coaching job with the Anaheim Ducks. Former NAHL coaches Mike Vellucci (Pittsburgh Penguins) and Jay Varady (Detroit Red Wings) also begin their seasons as Assistant Coaches in the NHL.

Earlier this summer, a total of 80+ NAHL alumni attended NHL Development Camps and the league also saw seven NAHL players selected in the 2023 NHL Draft.

NAHL alumni on NHL Opening Night rosters

Cam Fowler, Anaheim Ducks (USNTDP, 2007-09)

Jason Zucker, Arizona Coyotes (USNTDP, 2008-09)

Derek Forbort, Boston Bruins (USNTDP, 2008-09)

Kevin Shattenkirk, Boston Bruins (USNTDP, 2005-07)

James van Riemsdyk, Boston Bruins (USNTDP, 2005-07)

Erik Johnson, Buffalo Sabres (USNTDP, 2004-06)

Nick Foligno, Chicago Blackhawks (USNTDP, 2003-04)

Jarred Tinordi, Chicago Blackhawks (USNTDP, 2008-09)

Jack Johnson, Colorado Avalanche (USNTDP, 2003-05)

Ivan Prosvetov, Colorado Avalanche (Minnesota Magicians, 2016-17)

Roope Hintz, Dallas Stars (Bismarck Bobcats, 2012-13)

Ryan Suter, Dallas Stars (USNTDP, 2001-03)

Jack Campbell, Edmonton Oilers (USNTDP, 2008-09)

Ryan Fanti, Edmonton Oilers (Minnesota Wilderness, 2017-19)

Anthony Stolarz, Florida Panthers (Corpus Christi IceRaysm 2011-12)

Pheonix Copley, Los Angeles Kings (Corpus Christi IceRays, 2010-11)

Blake Lizotte, Los Angeles Kings (Minot Minotauros, 2014-15)

Pat Maroon, Minnesota Wild (St. Louis Bandits, 2005-07)

Jon Merrill, Minnesota Wild (USNTDP, 2008-09)

Chris Wideman, Montreal Canadiens (St. Louis Bandits, 2006-07)

Keith Kincaid, New Jersey Devils (St. Louis Bandits, 2008-09)

Akira Schmid, New Jersey Devils (Corpus Christi IceRays, 2018-19)

Kyle Palmieri, New York Islanders (USNTDP, 2007-09)

Matt Nieto, Pittsburgh Penguins (USNTDP, 2008-09)

Drew O'Connor, Pittsburgh Penguins (New Jersey Titans, 2016-17)

Bryan Rust, Pittsburgh Penguins (USNTDP, 2008-09)

Nikolai Knyzhov, San Jose Sharks (Springfield Jr. Blues, 2015-16)

Nico Sturm, San Jose Sharks (Austin Bruins, 2013-15)

Justin Faulk, St. Louis Blues (USNTDP, 2008-09)

Brandon Saad, St. Louis Blues (Mahoning Valley Phantoms, 2008-09)

Ian Cole, Vancouver Canucks (USNTDP, 2005-07)

Tucker Poolman, Vancouver Canucks (Wichita Falls Wildcats, 2011-12)

Paul Cotter, Vegas Golden Knights (Brookings Blizzard, 2016-17)

Isaiah Saville, Vegas Golden Knights (Minnesota Magicians, 2017-18)

Nic Dowd, Washington Capitals (St. Louis Bandits/Wenatchee Wild, 2008-09)

Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets (Odessa Jackalopes, 2011-12)

Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings

Terms of Use