NAHL Alumni Update: NCAA Tournament Edition | North American Hockey League | NAHL
North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NA3HL USA Hockey T1ER NAPHL
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
Take Your Next Shift as a NAHL Official

NAHL Alumni Update: NCAA Tournament Edition

March 22, 2023

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2023 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, which begins this weekend.

In total, 110 NAHL alumni are on the 16 rosters of teams taking part in the event, and all 16 teams have at least one NAHL alumni. In case you have a rooting interest of teams with NAHL alumni, here is a breakdown:

Minnesota State: 13

Michigan Tech: 13

Canisius: 10

Western Michigan: 9

Cornell: 8

Colgate: 8

St. Cloud State: 7

Ohio State: 7

Michigan: 7

Penn State: 6

Boston: 5

Minnesota: 4

Quinnipiac: 4

Denver: 4

Merrimack: 3

Harvard: 2

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four, April 6 and 8 at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Flordia. The entire championship uses a single-elimination format. Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of the six conferences. The remainder of the field is selected at large.

The only other junior league in North America with more alumni playing in the NCAA Division I Championship Tournament than the NAHL is the USHL. In addition, 38% of freshmen playing NCAA Division I hockey are alumni of the NAHL.

Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings

Terms of Use