NAHL announces 2022 Robertson Cup Format and Championship | North American Hockey League | NAHL
North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NA3HL USA Hockey T1ER NAPHL
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play

NAHL announces 2022 Robertson Cup Format and Championship

March 21, 2022

The North American Hockey League (NAHL) has announced the format for the 2022 Robertson Cup Playoffs and National Championship, which will once again be played at the Fogerty Arena in Blaine, Minnesota, from May 20-24, 2022. This marks the fourth season that the Robertson Cup Championship will be held at Fogerty Arena. The Robertson Cup is awarded to the national playoff champion of the NAHL. The oldest junior hockey trophy in the United States, the Robertson Cup is named in honor of Chuck Robertson, a pioneer of junior hockey in the NAHL and youth hockey in the state of Michigan.

“The 2021 Robertson Cup was a fantastic event and we saw another sold out crowd for the Championship Game. The atmosphere we have been able to create is one that the participating teams, the scouts, and the fans can all enjoy and remember, so the decision to return to the Fogarty Arena in 2022 to host our National Championship was an easy one,” said NAHL Commissioner and President Mark Frankenfeld. “The Roberson Cup continues to be an important part of the NAHL event structure and continues our mission of being the League of Opportunity, no matter the time of year or setting. We look forward to build on last year and provide another memorable and incredible Robertson Cup Championship for our players.”

The top four teams in each division qualify for the playoffs. The 2022 Robertson Cup Playoff format will be as follows:

Division Semi-Finals (Best of 5)

The Club seeded first in each division will compete in a best-of-five series with the fourth seeded Club in the same division. The Club seeded second in each division will compete in a best-of-five-series against the Club seeded third in the same division. The Division Semi-Finals may begin no earlier than Thursday, April 21, 2022 and must conclude no later than Monday, May 2, 2022 The Club seeded higher in each division semifinal series has the right to host up to three games and the Club seeded lower in each division semifinal series must be able to host at least two games.

Division Finals (Best of 5)

The two Clubs in each division that won a division semifinal series shall compete in a best-of-five series against each other. The division finals may begin no earlier than Thursday, May 5, 2022, and conclude no later than Sunday, May 15, 2022. Clubs shall cooperate to schedule division final series competition. The higher seeded Club will have the right to host up to three games. The lower seeded Club must be able to host a minimum of two games.

Robertson Cup National Championship

The four NAHL divisional playoff champions will advance to the Robertson Cup Championship. Once the four NAHL Divisional Playoff Champions are determined, clubs will be seeded 1-4 based upon their finish in the NAHL regular-season standings. The game schedule will be as follows: The #1 Seed will face the #4 seed in a best of three series. The #2 seed will face the #3 seed in a best of three series. The two series winners will advance onto a one-game championship to determine the Robertson Cup National Champion. The event will begin on Friday, May 20th and conclude on Tuesday, May 24th.

Playoff Overtime Procedure

During all Robertson Cup playoff games, if the score is tied after three periods of play the following overtime procedure shall take place. Teams shall return to their dressing room and the ice shall be resurfaced. A fifteen-minute intermission shall take place. A twenty-minute, sudden death, overtime period shall be played with five skaters a side. The game shall terminate upon a goal being scored and the Club scoring declared the winner. If no goal is scored, the same procedure as above shall be repeated until a winner has been determined.

Tie-Breaking Policy

At the conclusion of the NAHL regular season, Clubs that play an equal amount of game against their opponents and that have an equal amount of points shall have their final position in the NAHL standings determined by applying the following tie breaking procedures until the tie is broken:

A. Most wins during the regular season.

B. Results of head-to-head competition during the regular season.

C. Total goal differential in head-to-head competition during the regular season.

D. Total goal differential during the regular season.

E. Coin flip.

Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey USPA Hockeyak
Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings