North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play

60 NAHL alumni on 2014-15 opening night NHL rosters

October 9, 2014

Former All-NAHL Rookie team members Ben Bishop (left) and Brandon Saad (right) are just two of 60 NAHL alumni on opening night NHL rosters.

As the National Hockey League (NHL) drops the puck on the 2014-15 season this week, the North American Hockey League (NAHL) is pleased to announce that a total of 60 NAHL alumni are listed on opening night rosters of NHL clubs. 25 of the 30 NHL clubs begin the season with at least one NAHL alumni on the roster. 
The list also includes former NAHL Coach of the Year Jon Cooper, who enters his second full season as the head coach of the Tampa Bay Lightning. Cooper began his NAHL coaching career with the Texarkana Bandits in the 2003-04 season.  He coached in the NAHL a total of five seasons.  In 2004-05 and again in 2007-08, he was honored as the NAHL Coach of the Year. Cooper was a finalst for the Jack Adams Award last season, which recognizes the top coach in the NHL.
The list also includes five of the 30 starting goalies in the NHL. They include Craig Anderson (Ottawa), Ben Bishop (Tampa Bay), Jimmy Howard (Detroit), Ryan Miller (Vancouver) and Cory Schnieder (New Jersey).
That list of alumni includes former Austin Bruins defenseman Christian Folin, who signed with the Wild this past Spring after spending two seasons in the NCAA with UMass-Lowell. Folin played in the 2012 NAHL Top Prospects Tournament. 
Over 90 NAHL alumni played at least a game in the NHL last season.
NAHL alumni on NHL opening night rosters
Craig Anderson, Ottawa Senators (Chicago Freeze, 1998-99)
Stu Bickel, Minnesota Wild (Southern Minnesota Express, 2005-06)
Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightning (Texas Tornado, 2004-05)
David Booth, Toronto Maple Leafs (Compuware Ambassadors, 2000-02)
Chris Brown, Washington Capitals (USNTDP, 2007-09)
Mike Brown, San Jose Sharks (USNTDP, 2001-03)
Matt Carle, Tampa Bay Lightning (USNTDP, 2000-02)
Ian Cole, St. Louis Blues (USNTDP, 2005-07)
Erik Condra, Ottawa Senators (Texarkana Bandits, 2003-04)
Patrick Eaves, Dallas Stars (USNTDP, 2000-02)
Justin Faulk, Carolina Hurricanes (USNTDP, 2008-09)
Nick Foligno, Columbus Blue Jackets (USNTDP, 2003-04)
Christian Folin, Minnesota Wild (Austin Bruins, 2010-12)
Cam Fowler, Anaheim Ducks (USNTDP, 2007-09)
Nathan Gerbe, Carolina Hurricanes (USNTDP, 2003-05)
Stephen Gionta, New Jersey Devils (Rochester Jr. Americans, 1999-02)
Andy Greene, New Jersey Devils (Compuware Ambassadors, 1999-02)
Ron Hainsey, Carolina Hurricanes (USNTDP, 1997-98)
Eriah Hayes, San Jose Sharks (Topeka RoadRunners, 2007-08)
Jimmy Hayes, Florida Panthers (USNTDP, 2006-08)
Jimmy Howard, Detroit Red Wings (USNTDP, 2001-02)
Matt Hunwick, New York Rangers (USNTDP, 2001-03)
Erik Johnson, Colorado Avalanche (USNTDP, 2004-06)
Jack Johnson, Columbus Blue Jackets (USNTDP, 2003-05)
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks (USNTDP, 2004-06)
Phil Kessel, Toronto Maple Leafs (USNTDP, 2003-05)
Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks (USNTDP, 2000-02)
David Legwand, Detroit Red Wings (Compuware Ambassadors, 1996-97)
Jordan Leopold, St. Louis Blues (USNTDP, 1997-98)
John-Michael Liles, Carolina Hurricanes (USNTDP, 1997-99)
Pat Maroon, Anaheim Ducks (Texarkana/St. Louis Bandits, 2005-07)
Jon Merrill, New Jersey Devils (USNTDP, 2008-09 )
Drew Miller, Detroit Red Wings (Capital Centre Pride, 2000-03)
Ryan Miller, Vancouver Canucks (Soo Indians, 1997-99)
Al Montoya, Winnipeg Jets (Texas Tornado/USNTDP, 2000-02)
Jeremy Morin, Chicago Blackhawks (USNTDP, 2007-09)
David Moss, Arizona Coyotes (St. Louis Sting, 2000-01)
Matt Moulson, Buffalo Sabres (Springfield Spirit, 2001-02)
Matt Nieto, San Jose Sharks (USNTDP, 2008-09)
Eric Nystrom, Nashville Predators (USNTDP, 1999-00)
Kyle Palmieri, Anaheim Ducks (USNTDP, 2007-09)
Corey Potter, Calgary Flames (USNTDP, 2000-02)
Brandon Saad , Chicago Blackhawks (Mahoning Valley Phantoms, 2008-09)
Cory Schneider, New Jersey Devils (USNTDP, 2003-04)
John Scott, San Jose Sharks (Chicago Freeze, 2001-02)
Kevin Shattenkirk, St. Louis Blues (USNTDP, 2005-07)
Jack Skille, Columbus Blue Jackets (USNTDP, 2003-05)
Jim Slater, Winnipeg Jets (Cleveland Barons, 1998-01)
Alex Stalock, San Jose Sharks (USNTDP, 2003-04)
Brian Strait, New York Islanders (USNTDP, 2004-06)
Mark Stuart, Winnipeg Jets (USNTDP, 2000-02)
Chris Summers, Arizona Coyotes (USNTDP, 2004-06)
Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild (USNTDP, 2001-03)
R.J. Umberger , Philadelphia Flyers (USNTDP, 1998-99)
James Van Riemsdyk, Toronto Maple Leafs (USNTDP, 2005-07)
Thomas Vanek, Minnesota Wild (Rochester Jr. Americans, 1999-00)
Justin Williams, Los Angeles Kings (Compuware Ambassadors, 1998-99)
Colin Wilson, Nashville Predators (USNTDP, 2005-07)
James Wisniewski, Columbus Blue Jackets (Compuware Ambassadors, 1999-00)
Jason Zucker, Minnesota Wild (USNTDP, 2008-09)
Bauer Vaughn Custom Sports HockeyTV
Fanisko Super Chexx USA Hockey Apex Learning Krampade
Beauty Status Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear A and R Sports
Official Game Puck Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Sixt Rent A Car
HockeyTech Schwan Super Rink Jason Livery Custom Painted Goalie Masks Minneapolis Northwest Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine USA Junior Hockey Magazine Rubber Hockey Magazine