t Four Avalanche players make college plans | North American Hockey League | NAHL
North American Hockey League logo North American Hockey League
The League of Opportunity NAHL Combines NAPHL NA3HL USA Hockey
Download on the App Store
Download on Google Play
NAHL Store

Four Avalanche players make college plans

June 4, 2009

Sean McNeely, above, tied for fifth in scoring among NAHL defensemen with teammate Jason Cohen.

The Alaska Avalanche has announced that four of its players have committed to NCAA institutions for the coming season, including second-year defenseman Jason Cohen, who will head to American International College (Atlantic Hockey).

A 20-year-old from Anchorage, Cohen is the 24rd player who competed in January's NAHL Top Prospects Tournament to commit to a Division I program following the event.

“This is exciting news for Jason and his family,” said Avalanche head coach Dave Boitz.  “I have no doubt he’ll have a bright career at AIC, both on the ice and in the classroom.”

Two other Avalanche players who skated in the Top Prospects Tournament will play for Division III programs, as defenseman Sean McNeely, a 20-year-old from Brooklyn Park, Minn., will attend the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (NCHA) and 20-year-old forward Tyler Currier, from Anchorage, will dress for the University of Wisconsin-Stout (NCHA)

The Avalanche’s Justin Giles, a 21-year-old forward from Tulsa, Okla., will also attend UW-Stout.

The 23 other NAHL players to commit to a Division I school after the Top Prospects Tournament are: Bismarck Bobcats goaltender Matt Grogan (University of Connecticut); Fairbanks Ice Dogs forwards Paul Kirtland (Ohio State University) and Eric Kraft (Lake Superior State University); defenseman Brandon Martell (Ohio State) and goaltender Phil Cook (Minnesota State-Mankato); Mahoning Valley Phantoms defensemen Carl Nielsen (Michigan Tech University) and Cullen Lundholm (Robert Morris University); Marquette Rangers forward Chad Pietila (Northern Michigan University) and Reed Rushing (Bowling Green State University); Motor City Machine forward Ryan Misiak (Mercyhurst College); North Iowa Outlaws forwards Brandon Brodhag (Merrimack College), Alex Carlson (Ohio State) and Ryan Peltoma (Bowling Green); Owatonna Express defenseman Tim Smith; Springfield Jr. Blues forward Trent Frey (Mercyhurst); St. Louis Bandits forward Brendan Sheehan (Niagara University) defenseman Tyler Elbrecht (Minnesota State-Mankato) and goaltender Keith Kinkaid (Union); Topeka RoadRunners goaltender Bryce Merriam (RPI) and forward Steve Shafer (Canisius College); and Wenatchee Wild forwards Ducan McKellar (Bemidji State University) and Mitch Torrel (Air Force) and goaltender Mathieu Dugas (Bemidji State).

View the complete NAHL college list here.

Bauer Vaughn Custom Sports HockeyTV
Fanisko Super Chexx USA Hockey Apex Learning Krampade
Beauty Status Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear A and R Sports
Official Game Puck Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Sixt Rent A Car
HockeyTech Schwan Super Rink Jason Livery Custom Painted Goalie Masks Minneapolis Northwest Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine USA Junior Hockey Magazine Rubber Hockey Magazine